UP Women’s Taekwondo Team wins Championship in UAAP Season 77

Print pagePDF pageEmail page

Members of the UP Women’s Taekwondo Team at the awarding ceremony.

With season MVP Charizza Camille Alombro leading the way, the University of the Philippines Women’s Taekwondo Team defeated De La Salle University, 5-2, winning the championship in their category.

The Lady Maroons, who last won the championship in 2002 behind Sugar Catalan, finished the season with a 5-1 slate, with the lone setback came from the hands of the former champion University of the Santo Tomas Tigresses, whose roster are filled with national team mainstays.

“Matagal na naming hinihintay na mag-champion ang women’s team. Nagtiwala kami na kahit anong nangyari, kaya naming mag-champion at naging united kami,” said the 19-year old Alombro.